GD&TOP- I Finally Get K-Pop

So I’ve read about k-pop on blogs and music sites for a while with everyone declaring it the next big thing in music internationally, I was less than impressed with what I had heard. Then last night I happened to listen to GD&Top’s “Knockout” because it was produced by Diplo, and I love me some Diplo music, no matter the source.

I loved the song.

The video was crazy weird but I kinda liked it cause of that reason.

I listened to their whole album.

I’ve listened to it on repeat since.

So it turns out k-pop can be awesome. I love “뻑이가요 “(Knockout), the “Intro”, “High High,” and “Oh Yeah” in particular, but most of the album is listenable, I prefer when they stay in a hip-hop sound and not depart like in “Oh Mom.” Not a fan. But there is clear potential for this duo to become an American success with their use of popular but unique beats, friends like Diplo, and well spoken English. I look at this like the possible next “Alors on Danse” or “Like A G6,” the production and unique, dumb, catchy, club music. K-Pop in 2011?

This entry was posted in k-pop, New Music, Production, video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GD&TOP- I Finally Get K-Pop

  1. Kirby Mchugh says:

    I just want to say I am beginner to blogging and actually liked you’re web site. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You definitely come with tremendous articles. With thanks for sharing with us your website page.

Leave a Reply

